Our Satisfied families have made the following comments about our services:

May 12, 2017

Our mother passed away on January 26, 2017. My sister and I had planned out mother’s funeral, burial and total payment in advance with Darryl Young in late 2016. I cannot say enough about Darry’s guidance and complete explanations, step-by-step as to the transfer from Mama’s home to Simplicity, and burial after her death.

I decided to wait until the trauma of our mother’s death and passing before I shared my thoughts. I cannot add enough praise as to how Darryl and your staff performed during this period of time.

I have invited numerous friends and fellow church members to meet with Darryl to plan and pre-pay for their funerals. When I mentioned Simplicity to our pastor, I was met with nothing but great feedback.

I close by thanking you all for what you did in a respectful and dignified manner to lay our mother to rest.

Respectfully,

James M. Voight, Sr.

January 14, 2015

Dear Jim and Eliza,

I do not feel I thanked you adequately for the wonderful job you did with my husband’s funeral service. You were so kind and helpful and handled everything with such dignity. People are still telling me how impressed they were with the service. I am so pleased that your firm was recommended to me and I took that advice. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Dee Moseley

01/12/2015
I lost my mom in December of 2014 and all I can say is this place was truly one of kind and amazing!
This place was so full of love and compassion! They were very considerate of family and friends.
They truly made the process smooth.
They are very knowledgeable of how the process happens and in that time that is such a blessing. Especially for our family who didn’t know what our next steps were.
If you are looking for a funeral home that has it all then you are looking for Simplicity! I don’t normally write reviews but I just had to for this place. They really are that great of place! You won’t find a better place!Thank you again Simplicity there aren’t enough words to describe how awesome you guys are,
-Rentz family

01/09/2015

Fantastic service. Jim and his staff were very thoughtful and caring during our time of loss. I would highly recommend Simplicity to all family and friends.
Mark Heffron

8/5/2014

Julie and Jim

Words could never say what wonderful people you are! I have never been treated so loving and caring as you both did.  I was a long way from home with no idea how to death with my sister’s death or what I should do.  You both were gifts from God for me and I would like to sincerely say thank you.  Everyone in South Carolina should be grateful for you.  Again thank you!

Family of Cathy Catchings

7/2/2014
Jim
Thank you and the staff with Simplicity Lowcountry Cremation & Burial Services for all of your kindness, support, and attention to detail on planning and making our mothers memorial service a true celebration of her life. We really appreciate your guidance with decisions and availability. The chapel was perfect. Thanks so much!
Warm Regards
Helen & Chris Tecklenburg

6/27/2014
Jim
On your website, I like how you use the title “our caring staff” because I believe it is so true. The way you held our hands through the entire process made us feel like our dad was cared for and so were we. Everyone who has answered the phone has had such a calm and understanding way. We felt we needed to see dad to even begin to believe that his death was real. Your team made him look peaceful, as if resting, which was a comfort to us when he passed. I thought we would have to set up a payment plan to cover the cremation, but I was relieved that everything was handled beautifully without having to require a recurring bill. Thank you!
Sincerely
Ashley Herron (Daughter of Christopher Cole)

2/11/2014

It has been a little over a month my husband Ben left us to be with God and his family. As hard as it is for me to still talk about losing (the one, my love) I have to take time to thank everyone at Simplicity, Jason, Jim, Pastor. Everything was beautiful the Guardsmen at his casket from the VFW and Military Honors to presenting of flag, bugler and VFW Presenting that bible and the pastors speech. I don’t like to be at funerals,  but my heart would have been very heavy had I not attended. My angels. I love him so much it hurts. Thank you to all the staff at Simplicity for coming to my home when I called before. My husband’s death and holding my hand and being patient. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for making it easy for me to attend, I felt I already knew some of you. I hope people see this because you also have GREAT prices. Again, Thank you. Bess Coolen

11/1/2013

Jim

I cannot express the amount of gratitude in my heart for you and your team.  The way you handled arrangements for my mom, Jean Hoffa, were not only professional, but handled with love, compassion, quality & care.  We felt as though we were treated as family, and not just “another” customer.  From the depths of my heart, thank you to you, Jason, Billy & Julie.  You are GREAT because of the love of Christ shining through what you do.  God Bless

Ivy Hoffa Gates

5/23/2013

Simplicity is the place to go when a loved one passes. They are not only very affordable but also caring & respectful! My mom just passed away this march and she asked to be cremated..we chose simplicity and I am very happy that we did. No one could have been more caring. Mr. Jim dobbins is the owner and the licensed funeral director of simplicity and he is also the perfect man for this place because he was respectful and ensured our feelings and thoughts came first. The young woman who helped us with all the paperwork was AMAZING!! I can’t remember her name to save my life but she is the only woman up there that takes care of the paperwork aspect of everything and she is caring and very considerate also! All of the workers at simplicity are!  A lot of people just care about how much money they are going to be making, but with this place they put our feelings and hearts first before they worried or even asked about getting Paid. That is a very rare thing to find in a world like ours today so I highly recommend this place!

Dena H.

5/13/2013

I’m writing this rewiew to let you know what I experienced. When your going through a time as this caring people make a difference, and thats what Jim and the staff gave me. My sister (who died Oct 2012) and I discussed early on, we did not want to burdened each other with a highly expensive cremation. I looked around compared prices and services, then went to Simpliciity. Thats when I knew I had made the right choice. They were there to listen. They also did a wonderful job preparing my sister for my viewing. I just want to say Thank you, so much. And may God Bless You.

Cheryl M.

5/13/2013

Just wanted to write and let everyone know how pleased I was with Simplicity’s cremation service. My Father passed suddenly and I had no clue what to do. With the help of Jim and his wonderful assistant Julie I had a chance to have a goodbye viewing before the cremation and that meant the world to me and my family. I would highly recommend their services, it was very reasonably priced and they are so caring to your needs. Thank you guys again for helping me through this tough time. It gave me some peace of mind.

Molly M.

5/6/2013

My father passed away in February, 2013. I had to research online for a place to get him cremated as that is what he wanted. I made a list of 5 or 6 different places in the area and began calling each one of them with my list of questions. Simplicity Lowcountry Cremation and Burial turned out to be the cheapest ones on the list. My first thought was,”how can they do this so cheap when everyone else is so expensive, they must be skimping on things.” I decided to check it out anyway and was very pleasantly surprised when I went there to meet with Jim and Julie. They have very nice modern facilities, they are not skimping on anything. But more than that, they really care about helping people through the difficult time it is to say good-by to a loved one. If my father was watching, he would be very happy with the respect and care shown for his body and his family.

Vanessa G.

5/5/2013

Thank you so very much to Simplicity for all the kindness shown to us at my husband, Blair’s, passing. Everything was done with such care at a very confusing time. I have and will continue to recommend your company to everyone.  – Nancy Hildebrand

4/15/2013

My mother died the Monday before Thanksgiving.  Though we had only talked with Mr. Dobbins once and had not set up anything, when I called him, he immediately came in the wee hours of the morning.  He was great.  Everything they did was professional.  I highly recommend Simplicity to anyone who needs this type of service.     Susan O.

4/3/2013

My family was so pleased with Simplicity Low country Cremation & Burial for the kindness, and caring they had for us after the  loss of my husband and we think they did excellent on all the funeral and burial.  Jim you are the top and this family thanks you and yours for your excellent care and great service.  We have been telling friends n family and will recommend you to all. Forever  Thankful – The Overlock  Family

2/13/2013

Simplicity Staff

Thanks to all of you for your help and for taking special care of the burial details for my brother.  Because of you the burdens of losing a loved one was much lighter.  May God bless you as you continue to serve others.

Virginia

2/5/2013

Simplicity handled the arrangements for our mother after she died and were very professional, compassionate and respectful during a very difficult time. I would highly recommend them!

Stephanie Shahid

 

10/17/2012

After the loss of my father, I contacted Simplicity and immediately knew I had made the right decision.  Jim Dobbins (owner) answered the phone and it felt like I was talking with a friend, not looking for burial service for my father.  Mr. Dobbins made a house call and made me and the rest of the family very comfortable with him being there considering the circumstances.  He was very consoling and made sure I used the services that made me happy and what my father would have wanted.  He did not try to “upsell” me or sell me anything I was not interested in.  I would highly recommend Simplicity to anyone dealing with the loss of a loved one due to their professionalism and can tell that they are genuinely good people.  I have no doubt that Jim Dobbins and Simplicity will be extremely successful here in the Charleston area and wish them all the best in the future.
Matthew Johnson

 

10/13/2012

**Jim,

I don’t have enough words to completely express my gratitude for all your help regarding the loss of my father and his final arrangements.

Because you took the time to go over all the paperwork with me over the phone when it was clear we were going to lose him I was able to spend my fathers last days with him as my complete focus, no worries or decisions to be made.

Never once did I feel as though my father was being overlooked because we couldn’t afford a more exorbitant and fancy funeral. I just knew after talking to you on the phone the morning he passed that everything was going to be okay and that he would be happy with my decision to go with Simplicity.

In short, you made things simple and much easier for me overall. I hope that you will continue to have a successful practice bringing economical funeral services to our community.

My thanks, many times over.

~Tyra Lynne Wahl

 

 

**When my sister and I needed to plan a funeral for our mother, we looked at the well-known Lowcountry mainstays that have been around for what seems like before the Civil War and that almost everyone uses.

We were shocked at the prices — folks, increase your insurance coverage, because a funeral is not cheap.

Thankfully there’s an alternative to the high-priced mainstays, and a darn good one at that.

A friend recommended we check out Simplicity Lowcountry. We checked the Google reviews and decided to give them a visit.  We’re glad we did! They were GREAT and really do deserve a 5-star rating.

Simplicity Lowcountry lives up to its name — this small but earnest start up delivered a fair-priced, simple but elegant option to the “big boys.” They’ve been in business only a few months, but they’re worth considering if you’ve been tasked with planning a funeral.

Keep in mind, you won’t get the fancy chandeliers, spa-ish bathrooms, or Grecian urns adorning the visitation rooms of other funeral parlors, but you will get a fair-priced funeral handled by an extremely personable, knowledgeable director with about 20 years of experience.

I’m sure my mother is smiling in heaven right now, saying “Thanks, kids — you did good”  as her funeral ended up being an expression of some of her deeply held values: keep it simple, play Baptist hymns in the background, and during the visitation, talk about the good times. We got all this and more.

Jim worked very hard to earn our business, and we felt like he took the time to get to know us on a personal level. We liked his sincerity and authenticity. NEVER did we feel that he was trying to upsell us to the next fanciest option.

Soft-spoken, he was extremely patient in finding out what my mother would have wanted and delivered exactly that.

He was courteous, definitely knew his business, and was careful with each and every detail. Most appreciated, we found him to be transparent as he explained choices and prices.

My sister and I (in fact everyone) were extremely pleased with the way Jim handled ALL the details. He checked in periodically to make sure everyone was OK.

All we had to do was show up so that we could concentrate on celebrating our mother with family and close friends.

If you’d like to see what a fair-priced funeral looks like, consider Simplicity Lowcountry. We weren’t disappointed, and I bet you won’t be either

-Mick L.  North Charleston

 

**Jim, we cannot thank you and your staff enough for taking care of our family! Simplicity has the best price in town for the wide variety of services that you offer. Each person on the staff is professional and caring. We will be sure to refer other families to Simplicity to assist in their times of need.  -Aaron and Christina

 

**Jim Dobbins and his business Simplicity: Lowcountry Cremation & Burial Services are offering families what they have not previously had in the Lowcountry or many other places until now; an affordable alternative to traditional funeral service. Simplicity does not feel like a traditional home with its modern comfortable facade, and this aspect is pleasing to many consumers who feel uncomfortable in a traditional funeral home atmosphere. I think Simplicity is a welcome addition to the funeral service industry & its many grateful patrons. Thanks Jim for always putting families first!    – Jennifer Nickie

 

**Lowcountry Cremation did a good job. It was a difficult time for me and my family with my Grandfathers passing. They were very respectful, and I felt I could trust Jim with what needed to be done. It should be a crime for what these other places were charging. This place was definitely the right place for us.  – Matt Dickson

 

**They have the lowest prices and the best service.  I thought it was rediculous to spend a lot of money on my fathers cremation services.  They kept it simple yet were very compassionate throughout the whole process  – Dave Cycles

 

** 5/15/12 Very professional services. I had the owner Jim handle my Mother’s funeral last Sunday and I was a little nervous due to the fact the business has been open for just a few months. However after the meeting I knew that he had my interest in mind and cared.
The funeral services were first class without any problems and everyone was very pleased with both the companies services and Jim’s commitment to make sure everyone was comfortable with the whole process.
I highly recommend that Simplicity Lowcountry Cremation and  Burial be one of the first calls you make in your time of need. Great pricing, professional, but most important caring and understanding.

-David P